





18. - 20. 8. 2023 **BARUM CZECH RAILY 7**

PRESS RELEASE no. 32

The opening was performed the best by Simon Wagner from Austria

The 52nd Barum Czech Rally Zlín 2022 was traditionally kicked off with a spectator attractive Super Special Stage in the streets of the regional city of Zlín. On the 9.57 km long track, Simon Wagner from Austria, navigated by co-driver Gerald Winter, set the fastest time. The second place was taken by ten-time Barum Rally winner Jan Kopecký and co-driver Jan Hloušek from Agrotec Škoda Rally Team with a gap of 0.4 seconds, while the third place with a loss of 1.5 seconds went to the Cypriot-Ukrainian duo Alexey Lukyanuk and Yevgeny Cervonenko, all driving Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 cars.

In addition to Kopecký, the top ten Czech drivers included fourth Erik Cais (Škoda Fabia RS Rally2), sixth Filip Mareš (Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), seventh Dominik Stříteský (Škoda Fabia R5) and Adam Březík (Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo)closing the top ten. The European Championship leader Hayden Paddon from New Zealand (Hyundai i20N Rally2) took the ninth place, while Mads Ostberg from Norway (Citroën C3 Rally2) finished one place higher. Miklós Csomós from Hungary set an excellent sixth place overall.

In the ERC4 and 2WD category, the fastest was the experienced Czech driver Jaromír Tarabus (Peugeot 208 Rally4), among the registered ERC Juniors was the fastest Australian Max McRae driving with a British license (Opel Corsa Rally4). A total of 105 crews from 21 countries started this year's Barum Rally, with 64 competitors in the European Rally Championship series.

Standings after 1st special stage (Super SS Zlín, length 9,57 km)

1. S. Wagner, Winter (AUT, Škoda Fabia RS Rally2)	7:07,7 min
2. Kopecký, Hloušek (CZE, Škoda Fabia RS Rally2)	+ 0,4 s
3. Lukyanuk, Cervonenko (CYP/UKR, Škoda Fabia RS Rally2)	+ 1,5 s
4. Cais, Bacigál (CZE/SVK, Škoda Fabia RS Rally2)	+ 2,5 s
5. Csomós, Bán (HUN, Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo)	+ 4,0 s
6. Mareš, Bucha (CZE, Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo)	+ 4,6 s
7. Stříteský, Hovorka (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5)	+ 4,6 s
8. Ostberg, Barth (NOR/SWE, Citroën C3 Rally2)	+ 5,3 s
9. Paddon, Kennard (NZL, Hyundai i20N Rally2)	+ 5,9 s
10. A. Březík, Krajča (CZE, Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo)	+ 6,2 s
24. Armstrong, Fair (GBR, Ford Fiesta Rally3), 1st place ERC3	+ 30,8 s
29. Tarabus, Trunkát (CZE, Peugeot 208 Rally4), 1st place ERC4, 2 WD	+ 41,8 s
31. M. McRae, Kierans (GBR/IRL, Opel Corsa Rally4), 1st place ERC4J	+ 42,9 s
2 ::	,0 0

More information available at www.czechrally.com and don't forget to follow Barum rally and Star Rally Historic on the official Facebook, Instagram, Twitter accounts and other press information.

Zlín, 18th August 2023

Roman ORDELT **Press Relations Officer Barum Czech Rally Zlín**















