

PRESS RELEASE no. 37 Riders chose road order for Leg 1

Jan Kopecký (Škoda Fabia R5 Evo), the winner of the Qualifying Stage and Škoda Motorsport factory driver, will be the first to set off on the 49th Barum Czech Rally Zlín. He chose the first starting position for Saturday in Zlín square in front of the town hall. Right behind him will be Nikolay Gryazin (Škoda Fabia R5), a Russian with a Latvian license. The third one to taste the tarmac is Alexey Lukyanuk from Russia (Citroën C3 R5), ERC leader and the defending champion.

The 4.40km long Qualifying Stage took place in the section between Pohořelice and Komárov. The fastest ones were Jan Kopecký and Pavel Dresler, who managed in 2:39.893

As expected, the Czech favorite chose number 1 in the center of Zlín. "There is no other choice," Kopecký said as he placed his name on the stage. The other fourteen competitors also followed their qualification position. "I look forward to the Barum Rally. It is one of the most beautiful rally events. On the other hand, it is also very demanding," said the second-best rider in the qualification, Russian Nikolay Gryazin competing with the Latvian license.

"I want to beat everyone, including Kopecký," said third Russian Alexander Lukyanuk. Lukasz Habaj from Poland holds number ten for Leg 1 and in ERC is right behind Lukyanuk. "It is not ever, and everything is open," he does not lose hope when it comes to the gold medal. The fourth Filip Mareš openly said that every competitor at the Barum Rally is most fascinated by that "number one."





Road order for Saturday's Leg 1:

- 1. Jan Kopecký Pavel Dresler (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5 Evo)
- 2. Nikolay Gryazin Jaroslav Fedorov (LAT/RUS, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 3. Alexander Lukyanuk Alexander Arnautov (RUS, Citroën C3 R5)
- 4. Filip Mareš Jan Hloušek (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 5. Tomáš Kostka Ladislav Kučera (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5 Evo)
- 6. Václav Pech Petr Uhel (CZE, Ford Fiesta R5)
- 7. Miko Marczyk Szymon Gospodarczyk (POL, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 8. Jan Černý Petr Černohorský (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 9. Miroslav Jakeš Petr Machů (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 10. Lukasz Habaj Daniel Dymurski (POL, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 11. Vojtěch Štajf Veronika Havelková (CZE, Volkswagen Polo Gti R5)
- 12. Marijan Griebel Pirmin Winklhofer (DEU/AUT, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 13. Chris Ingram Ross Whittock (GBR, Škoda Fabia R5)
- 14. Norbert Herczig Ramón Ferencz (HUN, Volkswagen Polo GTi R5)
- 15. Martin Březík Marek Omelka (CZE, Škoda Fabia R5)

Zlín, 16th August 2019

Petr KOMÁREK Press Centre Barum Czech Rally Zlín



