

PRESS RELEASE no. 50 Kostka attacks Wiegand's second position

The Leg 2 of the 44th Barum Czech Rally Zlín 2014 began on the SS Zádveřice (length 14, 87 km). The Czech drivers confirmed their dominance as the six of them managed to get in the top ten. Jaromír Tarabus (Škoda Fabia S2000) passed the stage in the fastest time of 8:07, 2 minutes. Tomáš Kostka and Roman Odložilík both on Ford Fiesta R5 were lagging behind by 1, 1 seconds and 1, 4 seconds. The leader of the competition Václav Pech played it safe and finished seventh while losing 5, 4 seconds. The Polish driver Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Ford Fiesta R5) is keeping up with the top drivers from the fourth place. Sepp Wiegand (Škoda Fabia S2000) crossed the finish line as sixth.

The first running of Pindula (length 18, 43 km) was won by Esapekka Lappi, who got back in the race thanks to the Superrally rule. He passed the classical stage Pindula in 10:02, 3 minutes and behind him five Czech drivers - Orsák, Kostka, Pech, Tarabus and Odložilík, lined up. Pech increased his leading margin and Kostka is attempting to get to the second position. The Ukrainian driver Vitalij Puškar (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO) dropped out because of engine troubles.

A surprising victory achieved Jaroslav Orsák (Škoda Fabia S2000) on the SS Kudlovice (length 21, 41 km), right behind was Lappi and Tarabus. Kostka managed to close the gap between him and Wiegand by 4 seconds while Pech is still ahead of them by more than one minute. The leader of the production cars category Martin Březík (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX) lost valuable time due to troubles with differential and consequently András Hadik from Hungary (Subaru Impreza STi R4) took the lead.

Unofficial standings after SS12:

- 1. Václav Pech Petr Uhel (CZE, Mini John Cooper Works S2000)
- 2. Sepp Wiegand Frank Christian (DEU, Škoda Fabia S2000)
- 3. Tomáš Kostka Miroslav Houšť (CZE, Ford Fiesta R5)
- 4. Kajetan Kajetanowicz Jaroslaw Baran (POL, Ford Fiesta R5)
- 5. Roman Odložilík Martin Tureček (CZE, Ford Fiesta R5)
- 6. Jaroslav Orsák David Šmeidler (CZE, Škoda Fabia S2000)
- 7. Jaromír Tarabus Daniel Trunkát (CZE, Škoda Fabia S2000)
- 8. Robert Consani Maxime Vilmot (FRA, Peugeot 207 S2000)
- 9. Ott Tänak Raigo Mölder (EST, Ford Fiesta R5)
- 10. Martin Vlček Richard Lasevič (CZE, Škoda Fabia S2000)

In Zlín, 31 August 2014

Michael KACHLÍŘ, Roman ORDELT Press Centre Barum Czech Rally Zlín



1:46:36, 3 hr

+ 1:01, 4 min

+ 1:06, 3 min

+ 1:27, 4 min

+ 1:34, 0 min

+ 1:41, 3 min

+ 1:49. 4 min

+ 2:19, 9 min

+ 2:45, 0 min

+ 4:17. 2 min



2 Zin, spol. s r.o. | Hornomiynska 3715, C2 760 01 ZLIN | KB ZLIN 1101/05661/0100 | KOS Brno, oddii C, viozka 6748 | ICU: 46965564 | DIG: C2469655 Tel: 577 210 677, 577 437 024, 577 432 004 | Fax: 577 210 907 | E-mail: info@CzechRally.com | Web: www.CzechRally.com