PRESS RELEASE no. 32

Lappi and Tarabus rule the qualification

For the first time in history the Barum Czech Rally started with a qualification. Based on the results the priority drivers will subsequently select their starting positions for Saturday's part of the rally. The qualification took place at the well known section from Pohořelice to Komárov.

The section was 4,44 km long and Esapeka Lappi, the driver of factory team Škoda Motorsport, crossed the finish line in the time of 2,50.138. The Finn therefore obtained the privilege to be the first one to select his starting position. The home ground racer Jaromír Tarabus only lost by four thousandths of a second while driving the same car as Lappi – Škoda Fabia S2000. Craig Breen from Ireland driving a Peugeot 208 T16 completed the fastest trio with the loss of 84 thousandths of a second.

Overall there were 16 crews competing in the qualification. The position selections will take place in the foyer of the administration building Continental Barum s.r.o. starting at 11 o'clock.

BCZR 2014 Qualification Results

1. Esapekka Lappi – Janne Ferm (FIN), Škoda Fabia S2000	2:50.138
2. Jaromír Tarabus – Daniel Trunkát (CZE), Škoda Fabia S2000	+ 0.004
3. Craig Breen – Scott Martin (IRL/GBR), Peugeot 208 T16	+ 0.084
4. Václav Pech – Petr Uhel (CZE), Mini JCW S2000	+ 1.079
5. Robert Barrable – Stuart Loudon (IRL/GBR), Ford Fiesta R5	+ 1.296
6. Kevin Abbring – Sebastian Marshall (NLD/GBR), Peugeot 208 T16	+ 1.437
7. Sepp Wiegand – Frank Christian (DEU), Škoda Fabia S2000	+ 1.851
8. Kajetan Kajetanowicz – Jaroslaw Baran (POL), Ford Fiesta R5	+ 2.293
9. Robert Consani – Maxime Vilmot (FRA), Peugeot 207 S2000	+ 2.312
10. Tomáš Kostka – Miroslav Houšť (CZE), Ford Fiesta R5	+ 2.770
11. Ott Tänak – Raigo Mölder (EST), Ford Fiesta R5	+ 2.797
12. Roman Odložilík – Martin Tureček (CZE), Ford Fiesta R5	+ 2.942
13. Roman Kresta – Petr Starý (CZE), Škoda Fabia S2000	+ 4.366
14. Jaroslav Orsák – David Šmeidler (CZE), Škoda Fabia S2000	+ 4.636
15. Miroslav Jakeš – Jaroslav Novák (CZE), Citroën DS3 R5	+ 4.790
16. Bruno Magalhaes – Carlos Magalhaes (PRT), Peugeot 208 T16	+ 7.161

In Zlín 29 August 2014

Jakub Hofbauer Press centre Barum Czech Rally Zlín







